Schengen is a small wine-making village and commune in far south-eastern Luxembourg, on the western bank of the river Moselle. The commune border includes the tripoint where the borders of GermanyFrance, and Luxembourg meet.
After the mergers with Burmerange and Wellenstein in 2011, the commune has a population of 4,223 with an area of 31.42 square kilometres (12.13 sq mi).
The largest settlement within the commune of Schengen is Remerschen after which the commune used to be named. The name of the commune was changed in 2006 to take advantage of the Schengen's name recognition after the signing of the Schengen Agreement there in 1985.
Schengen Castle dates from 1390 but was almost completely rebuilt in the 19th century.

View the scenes #1024 #Sky #Border #DE-FR-LU #Schengen #CE2016 #120x60cm

Back to Top